Comparison

Director’s viewfinder apps compared

Updated 28 October 2026

Short answer

Artemis, from Chemical Wedding, and Cadrage, from Cadrage GmbH, are established director’s viewfinders for iPhone and iPad, on the App Store today. Artemis is a free download with a subscription or a one-time Core License, and has companion apps for the Mac, Apple Vision Pro and Apple TV. Cadrage is bought once. Cinewright for iPhone and iPad is a free download with Pro as a one-time unlock: its viewfinder sits beside scouting, slate, script supervising and set tools in the same app. Cinewright is finished and launches through Kickstarter in late 2026 or early 2027; nothing is on sale yet.

Updated 28 October 2026

What Cinewright adds

Built into Cinewright today, and shown in the feature table on this page as Not stated or No for the other products here, or working differently.

  • Viewfinder, location scouting, slate, script supervising, floor plans and lighting plots in one app: a free download, with Pro $59.99 once.
  • Free without paying: the viewfinder with ARRI cameras and three lens sets, frame lines, the calculators and the sun planner.
  • Exposure tools (Pro): false colour, zebras, focus peaking, waveform and other scopes, and filters allowed for in the exposure.
  • LiDAR focus distance and a depth-of-field preview in the viewfinder (Pro, on devices with LiDAR).
  • A wireless video village to up to 8 iPhones and iPads with no router or internet (sending needs Pro).
  • Timecode sync, and camera remotes for Blackmagic, Z CAM and Canon (Pro).
  • An Apple Watch slate remote.
  • Shot lists, scouts and storyboards go to Cinewright Budgeting and Scheduling, and the app is in 16 languages.

Price, devices and accounts

Facts about the other products come from their makers’ own websites and their App Store listings, read on 28 October 2026. “Not stated” means we did not find it there; it does not mean the feature is missing. Prices are in US dollars.

CinewrightArtemisCadrage
On sale todayNo; launches through Kickstarter in late 2026 or early 2027Yes, on the App StoreYes, on the App Store
How it is soldFree download; Pro $59.99 once. Production Pass for a production’s shared devices: $19.99 for 30 days or $39.99 for 90 days, not renewing (prices)Free download with in-app purchases: $3.99 a month, $16.99 a year, or a $29.99 Core License; Helios View and External Camera Mode $9.99 each. On Chemical Wedding’s website: Artemis One, $41 a year, with Artemis Studio, Artemis XR, Artemis TV and both add-ons$19.99 once; no in-app purchases listed
Free without payingThe viewfinder with ARRI cameras and three lens sets, frame lines, every calculator, the sun planner, the slate and the crew showA free trial (length not stated)Paid app; no free version listed
Family SharingYes, for ProNot statedYes
iPhone and iPadYes, iOS and iPadOS 18 or laterYes, iOS and iPadOS 18.0 or laterYes, iOS and iPadOS 18.6 or later; one purchase covers both
Apple WatchSlate remote: scene, take, roll, timecode, Marker and CutNot statedNot stated
Apple Vision Pro and Apple TVNoArtemis XR on Apple Vision Pro; Artemis TV shows the framed live view on an Apple TVCadrage Studio runs on Apple Vision Pro
AndroidIn developmentNot statedNot planned, says Cadrage’s help centre
AccountNoneNot needed in the app; Sign in with Apple to buy or manage a subscription on the websiteNot stated
Without internetWorks offline; sun plans can be saved for offline use (Pro)Not statedNot stated
App Store privacy labelPrivacy policy: no accounts, no analytics, nothing collectedData Not Linked to You: diagnosticsData Not Linked to You: usage data and diagnostics
Languages1610: English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Simplified Chinese and SpanishEnglish and Simplified Chinese
AccessibilityVoiceOver (beta, being tested)Not statedNot stated
Latest version we sawNot released yet8.12.0 (October 2026)6.1.4 (October 2026)

Cameras, lenses and frame lines

Facts about the other products come from their makers’ own websites and their App Store listings, read on 28 October 2026. “Not stated” means we did not find it there; it does not mean the feature is missing. Prices are in US dollars.

CinewrightArtemisCadrage
Cameras107 cameras and sensor formats, digital and film, from Super 8 to IMAX 65mm, each recording format’s size in millimetresA database of cinema cameras covering formats from Super 8 to IMAX; number not stated; updated weeklyCinema and photo cameras, including film-still formats; “thousands of cameras and lenses” together
Lenses220 lens sets from 35 makers, with widest T-stop, mount, squeeze and image circle; a warning when a lens vignettes on the formatNumber not statedHundreds of lens series, with aperture and close-focus data for most
AnamorphicDe-squeeze from the set’s squeeze, or 1.00x to 2x in 0.01 stepsCustom anamorphicsAnamorphic lenses and camera modes; generic anamorphic lenses at 2x; custom anamorphic adapters
Adapters1.4x and 2x extenders, 0.71x and 0.64x speed boosters, 1.6x expander; a measured focal length per lensLens extenders; correcting a lens’s marked focal lengthSpeed boosters (including Metabones) and tele extenders; custom adapters
Your own cameras and lensesYes (Pro), with a name for each lens; kit files carry the package to the whole crewCustom cameras and lenses; setups shared with other Artemis usersCustom formats from a sensor size; custom lens series names; setups shared by link or QR code
Wider than the phoneUltra-wide camera, calibrated clip-on wide lenses, and SWEEP wide compositesA calibration wizard for the iPhone cameraEvery iPhone camera, switching to ultra-wide by itself; clip-on lens presets or a custom factor
Delivery ratiosSensor, 2.39, 2.00, 1.85, 16:9, 1.66, 1.43 IMAX, 4:3, 1:1, 4:5, 9:16, and custom from 0.40 to 4.00Custom frame lines; a 9:16 Vertical ModeCustom frame lines in any aspect ratio; a native aspect ratio option
A second frameA protection frame for another deliverable: 16:9, 1.85, 4:3, 9:16, 4:5 or 1:1A/B Mode: a second camera format, compared with inner and outer frame linesOne secondary frame line per setup, with its own colour
GuidesCentre mark, thirds, horizon level, safe areas (95%, 93%, 90%, 80%), social safe zones for Reels, TikTok and ShortsNot statedCentre cross, action safe, title safe, grid, thirds and golden ratio
FiltersND, IRND, grads, variable ND, polarisers, diffusion, colour correction and effects, previewed and allowed for in exposure (Pro)Not statedNot stated

Focus and exposure

Facts about the other products come from their makers’ own websites and their App Store listings, read on 28 October 2026. “Not stated” means we did not find it there; it does not mean the feature is missing. Prices are in US dollars.

CinewrightArtemisCadrage
Focus distanceMeasured with LiDAR (to about 5 m), estimated with AR on other devices; eye lock, focus marks and racking (Pro)LiDAR is used so real objects can hide virtual stand-ins; focus distance tools not statedTap to focus; manual focus by swiping; LiDAR not stated
Depth of fieldA depth-of-field preview in the viewfinder (LiDAR), and a depth of field and split focus calculatorNot statedIn Cadrage’s separate f8 Lens Toolkit app ($9.99)
False colour, zebras, peaking, scopesYes (Pro), with face exposure and key-to-fill readingsNot statedNot stated
LUTs.cube 3D and 1D LUTs imported, built-in looks, intensityLUT import and proxy LUTsImage LUTs imported through Photos; preset looks
GradingASC CDL, exported as .cdl, .cc and .cube, and ACES AMFNot statedThree-way colour correction (lift, gamma, gain), saturation, hue, temperature and tint
Log signalsDecoded from each maker’s published curve and gamut to Rec.709Not statedNot stated
A real camera’s pictureHDMI through a UVC capture card on iPad with USB-CExternal Camera Mode ($9.99) on iPad over USB-C, for named Canon, Sigma and Fujifilm camerasNot stated
Manual exposureA T-stop wheel; the planned exposure with filters and built-in NDNot statedManual exposure, focus and white balance

Sun and light

Facts about the other products come from their makers’ own websites and their App Store listings, read on 28 October 2026. “Not stated” means we did not find it there; it does not mean the feature is missing. Prices are in US dollars.

CinewrightArtemisCadrage
Sun path in the viewfinderAR sun and moon path (Pro), saved as a layer on each shotHelios View ($9.99, or with a subscription): the sun’s path over the live view, for any time and future datesSun tracking: the sun’s path at your location for any date
Sun and moon plannerSunrise, sunset, golden and blue hour, a sky chart with the moon, any place and date; freeThe separate Helios app ($29.99): sun, moon and stars, Street View, 3D buildings and mapsNot stated
Sun on a photoSun Path on Photo (Pro)In Helios, over Google Street View imagesNot stated
Light meterA planning meter on the phone’s camera, with colour temperature and gels (Pro)Not statedNot stated

Shots, storyboards and sharing

Facts about the other products come from their makers’ own websites and their App Store listings, read on 28 October 2026. “Not stated” means we did not find it there; it does not mean the feature is missing. Prices are in US dollars.

CinewrightArtemisCadrage
Stills and clipsSHOT frames and CLIP video cropped to the frame lines, with the look and filters (Pro)Stills and video, with annotations and non-destructive layersPhotos and video, with frame lines and overlays burned in if you choose
Saved with each shotCamera, format, lens, filters, LUT and CDL, GPS position and compass headingLocation, when permission is givenCamera, lenses, focal length, title, notes, compass bearing, tilt and map location; GPS in the photo’s EXIF
Stand-insStand-ins placed on the real floor (Pro)XR Stand-ins: life-size, hidden by real objects with LiDAR, synced through iCloudNot stated
OrganisingProjects and scenes; each shot filed as a storyboard frameArtemis Studio on the Mac: by scene, location or folderProjects and scenes, renumbering, shooting order, favourites
StoryboardsStoryboard PDFs, six frames to a page; animatics; tech scout PDFsStoryboard exports; Artemis Studio storyboard PDFs and video with title cardsImages arranged as a storyboard and exported as a PDF
Shot listsA shot-list grid, shared as CSV, Excel or PDF, and sent to Budgeting and SchedulingShot-list exports; Artemis Studio shot-list PDFsPDF shot lists at three levels of detail, with a map link and location QR code
SharingShare sheet, Files, iCloud sync between your own devices, password-protected PDFs, kit filesPDF and image exports; iCloud sync with Artemis StudioDropbox, email, AirDrop and other apps through the share sheet; setups by link or QR code
Live picture to othersWireless video village to up to 8 iPhones and iPads, with no router or internet; Share my framing; push-to-talk (Pro)Streams to nearby Artemis users (about 30 m); Artemis TV to an Apple TVNot stated
More on setSlate, timecode sync, camera remotes for Blackmagic, Z CAM and Canon, script supervising, floor plans and lighting plotsNot statedNot stated

Other viewfinder and sun apps

Current apps that cover part of the same work, from their App Store listings, read on 28 October 2026.

AppWhat it doesHow it is soldDevices
Helios (Chemical Wedding)Sun, moon and Milky Way planning: live view, Street View, 3D landscape and buildings, PDF export$29.99 onceiPhone, iPad and Apple Vision Pro
PhotoPillsSun, moon and Milky Way in AR, a map planner, depth of field and field of view, calculators$10.99iPhone, iPad and Apple Vision Pro
Sun SeekerThe sun’s path in 3D AR, a compass and a map view, light alerts, widgets$11.99iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch
Sun SurveyorSun and moon paths in AR, a 3D compass, Street View, Milky Way planning; works offline except maps$9.99iPhone, iPad and Apple silicon Mac
Mark II Artist’s ViewfinderMore than 800 still and motion cameras, lens data, GPS and setup saved with each picture, RAW and DNG$39.99iPhone and iPad
Magic ViewFinder (Magic Cinema)A viewfinder for named camera brands, with anamorphic, LUTs, video and Frame.ioFree with ads; Premium $1.49 a month or $4.99 onceiPhone and iPad
FinderKitOver 200 cameras and 2,000 lenses, anamorphic, PDF shot lists and storyboards, iCloud sync$4.99 a month, $49.99 a year or $29.99 onceiPhone, iPad and Apple silicon Mac
LensetUp to 3 frame lines at once, LUTs, GPS and heading on each capture, a sun-path overlay, PDF shot lists$19.99 onceiPhone and iPad
FrameUpAspect overlays, anamorphic, adapters, .cube LUTsFree; Pro $14.99iPhone and iPad
SetScopeFrame lines, depth of field, ND and flicker tools, sun and moon (AR sun path in Pro), slate and shot logFree; Pro $4.99 a month, $29.99 a year or $79.99 onceiPhone
Cine Meter IISpot, incident and colour metering, RGB waveform and false colour$24.99iPhone and iPad

Feature by feature

Every feature, row by row. Facts about the other products come from their makers’ own websites, help pages and App Store listings, read on 28 October 2026. Facts about Cinewright are features built into the apps today.

How to read the marks

  • Yes
  • No
  • Not stated: we did not find it on the maker’s pages; it does not mean the feature is missing.
  • Cinewright advantage: Cinewright has it and the other products here show No or Not stated, or Cinewright clearly differs, for example bought once or no account. It marks a difference, not a judgement about the other product.

Getting it and running it

CinewrightArtemisCadrage
How it is soldFree download; Pro $59.99 once; Production Pass $19.99/30 days or $39.99/90 daysFree download; in app $3.99 a month, $16.99 a year or $29.99 Core License$19.99 once; no in-app purchases listed
Free without payingYesViewfinder with ARRI cameras and 3 lens sets, frame lines, calculators, sun planner, slateYesFree download with a free trial; trial length not statedNoPaid app; no free version listed
Family SharingYesPro forever shares with Family Sharing; Production Pass does notNot statedYesUp to six family members
iPhone and iPadYesiOS and iPadOS 18 or laterYesiOS and iPadOS 18.0 or laterYesiOS and iPadOS 18.6 or later; one purchase covers your iOS devices
Mac appNoThe viewfinder is on iPhone and iPad; the Mac app, Cinewright Continuity, is for script supervisingNot statedSeparate Mac app, Artemis Studio: $39.99 a year or in Artemis OneNot statedSeparate Cadrage Studio (subscription) runs on Mac
Apple Watch✓YesSlate remote: scene, take, roll, timecode, Marker and CutNot statedNot stated
Apple Vision Pro and Apple TVNoNot statedSeparate apps: Artemis XR on Vision Pro, Artemis TV on Apple TVNot statedSeparate Cadrage Studio (subscription) runs on Apple Vision Pro
AndroidNoIn developmentNot statedNoNot available; no near-term plans, says the help centre
Account sign-in neededNoNo accountNoNot needed to use the app; Sign in with Apple to buy on the websiteNot statedDropbox export needs a Dropbox account
Works without internet✓YesWorks offline; sun plans saved for offline (Pro)Not statedNearby streaming is peer-to-peer; iCloud sync needs internetNot stated
App Store privacy labelNot on the App Store yet; the privacy policy says nothing is collectedData Not Linked to You: diagnosticsData Not Linked to You: usage data and diagnostics
Interface languages1610: English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Simplified Chinese, SpanishEnglish and Simplified Chinese
VoiceOverBeta, being testedNot statedApp Store: developer has not yet listed accessibility featuresNot statedApp Store: developer has not yet listed accessibility features
Licences for shared or company devicesYesProduction Pass: $19.99 for 30 days or $39.99 for 90 days, not renewingYesArtemis Enterprise: per device per year, at least 10 devicesNot stated

Cameras and lenses

CinewrightArtemisCadrage
Camera databaseYes107 cameras and sensor formats, digital and film (Pro for all; ARRI free)YesCinema camera database; count not stated; updated weeklyYesHundreds of cine and photo formats, updated regularly
Film formatsYesSuper 8, 16mm, 35mm, 65mm and IMAX film camerasYesFormats from Super 8 to IMAXYesFilm gauges 8mm to 65/70mm, plus still film formats
Lens databaseYes220 lens sets with T-stop, mount, squeeze and image circle (3 sets free)YesLens database; count not statedYesCine and photo lens series; most with aperture and close focus
Anamorphic lensesYesDe-squeeze from the set, or typed 1.00x to 2x (Pro)YesCustom anamorphic lensesYesAnamorphic lenses and modes; generic lenses at 2x squeeze
Extenders and speed boostersYes1.4x and 2x extenders, speed boosters, 1.6x expander (Pro)YesLens extenders; speed boosters not statedYesSpeed boosters (including Metabones) and tele extenders; custom adapters
Your own cameras and lensesYesOwn cameras, lenses and frame lines; kit files for the crew (Pro)YesCustom cameras and lenses; measured focal lengths can be enteredYesCustom formats by sensor size, focal lengths and adapters
Warning when a lens vignettes✓YesWarns when the image circle is smaller than the format (158 of 220 sets)Not statedNot statedPlaceholder shown when a lens is wider than the phone camera
Wider than the phone’s cameraYesUltra-wide camera, clip-on wide lenses, SWEEP composites (Pro)Not statedYesUses every iPhone camera; ultra-wide switches on by itself
Clip-on lensesYesClip-on add-ons, calibrated by measurement (Pro)Not statedYesPhone lens adapter presets or a custom conversion factor
Camera calibrationYesMeasured focal length and add-on calibration against a wallYesA calibration wizard corrects the iPhone camera’s field of viewYesPre-calibrated on supported devices; MEASURE tool for fine-tuning
Photo cameras alongside cine camerasNot statedNot statedYesStill cameras from Canon, Nikon, Sony and others
Every focal length of a lens set at onceNot statedNot statedYesOverview Mode shows frame guides for every prime

Frame lines and guides

CinewrightArtemisCadrage
Delivery aspect ratiosYesSensor, 2.39, 2.00, 1.85, 16:9, 1.66, 1.43 IMAX, 4:3, 1:1, 4:5, 9:16; freeYesCustom frame lines; 9:16 Vertical ModeYesFrame lines in any aspect ratio; native ratio option
Custom frame linesYesCustom ratios from 0.40 to 4.00YesCustom frame linesYesCustom aspect ratios and frame lines
A second frame lineYesProtection frame: 16:9, 1.85, 4:3, 9:16, 4:5 or 1:1YesA/B Mode: a second camera setup shown with inner and outer frame linesYesOne secondary frame line with its own colour and shading
Vertical (9:16) framingYes9:16 delivery and camera turned 90 degrees; freeYesVertical Mode reworks the tools for 9:16Not stated
Safe areasYes95%, 93%, 90% and 80% safe areasNot statedYesAction safe and title safe
Grids and thirdsYesCentre mark and rule of thirdsNot statedYesCentre cross, grid, rule of thirds and golden ratio
Horizon level✓YesTurns green within half a degreeNot statedNot stated
Social media safe zones✓YesReels, TikTok and Shorts safe zones; freeNot statedNot stated

Focus, exposure and look

CinewrightArtemisCadrage
Focus distance✓YesLiDAR measured, AR estimated; focus marks and racking (Pro)Not statedNot statedTap to focus and manual focus by swiping; distance not stated
LiDARYesOn iPhone Pro and iPad Pro (Pro)YesOn LiDAR devices, real objects can hide XR stand-insNot stated
Depth of field✓YesDepth-of-field preview with LiDAR (Pro); free DOF and split-focus calculatorNot statedNot statedIn Cadrage’s separate f8 Lens Toolkit app
False colour✓YesFalse colour and stop zones (Pro)Not statedNot stated
Zebras✓Yes(Pro)Not statedNot stated
Focus peaking✓Yes(Pro)Not statedNot stated
Waveform and scopes✓YesWaveform, RGB parade, vectorscope, histogram; up to four (Pro)Not statedNot stated
LUTsYes.cube LUTs imported, built-in looks (Pro)YesLUT import and proxy LUTs; LUTs kept as editable layersYesImage-based LUTs imported through Photos; built-in looks
Colour correctionYesASC CDL grade and lens character (Pro)Not statedImage control listed; no details givenYesLift, gamma, gain wheels; saturation, hue, temperature, tint and more
ASC CDL export✓Yes.cdl, .cc and .cube, and ACES AMF (Pro)Not statedNot stated
Log signals✓YesLog HDMI feeds decoded from makers’ published curves to Rec.709 (Pro)Not statedNot stated
Filters✓YesND, grads, polarisers, diffusion and more, allowed for in exposure (Pro)Not statedNot stated
Manual exposureYesT-stop and focus wheels; exposure plan with filters (Pro)Not statedYesManual exposure, focus and white balance
A real camera’s pictureYesHDMI through a UVC capture card, on iPad with USB-C (Pro)YesExternal Camera Mode ($9.99): named Canon, Sigma, Fujifilm cameras over USB-C, iPadNot stated

Sun and light

CinewrightArtemisCadrage
Sun path in the viewfinderYesAR sun and moon path (Pro)YesHelios View ($9.99, or with a subscription): sun path over the live view, any dateYesSun tracking: the sun’s path at your location for any date
Moon✓YesMoon path in the planner’s sky chart and in ARNot statedMoon in the separate Helios appNot stated
Sun and moon planner✓YesAny place and date, worked out on the device; freeNot statedSeparate Helios app ($29.99): sun and moon planningNot stated
Golden and blue hour✓YesGolden and blue hour times; freeNot statedNot stated
Sun path on a photo✓YesSun Path on Photo (Pro)Not statedSeparate Helios app shows the sun over Street ViewNot stated
Light meter✓YesPlanning meter on the phone’s camera, colour temperature and gels (Pro)Not statedNot stated

Shots and storyboards

CinewrightArtemisCadrage
StillsYesSHOT frames cropped to the frame lines (Pro)YesRecords images, with annotationsYesPhotos, saved to the Cadrage gallery, Photos or both
Video clipsYesCLIP video (Pro)YesRecords video, including blockingYesVideo recording, with or without sound
Camera and lens saved with each shotYesCamera, format, lens, filters, LUT and CDLNot statedYesCamera format, focal length, field of view, title and notes saved
Location and compass headingYesGPS position and compass heading when reliableYesCaptures geotagged when location is allowed; heading not statedYesGPS in the photo’s EXIF; compass bearing and tilt
AR stand-insYesStand-ins on the real floor (Pro)YesXR Stand-ins: life-size, shadows for a date and time; with a subscriptionNot stated
Projects and scenesYesProjects and scenes; each shot filed as a storyboard frame (Pro)Not statedA gallery for sorting and planning; scenes in separate Artemis StudioYesProjects and scenes, drag-and-drop order, renumbering, favourites
Storyboard PDFsYesSix frames to a page; animatics too (Pro)YesStoryboard exports; layers included in PDF exportsNot statedExports images for storyboards; free storyboard templates on the website
Shot listsYesGrid with CSV, Excel and PDF, same columns as Budgeting and Scheduling (Pro)YesShot list exportsYesPDF shot lists at three detail levels, with map link and QR code
Location scouting reports✓YesLocation scouts free; tech scout PDF report (Pro)Not statedShot plans with sun data when paired with the separate Helios appNot stated
3D location scans✓YesLiDAR room and location scans (Pro)Not statedNot stated
Green screen preview✓YesChroma preview and markers (Pro)Not statedNot stated
Editable annotation layersNot statedYesDrawings, text, arrows, LUTs and stand-ins as layersNot stated

Sharing

CinewrightArtemisCadrage
Share sheet and FilesYesYesAssets in a Files app folder; email and Photos backupYesEmail, Dropbox, AirDrop, Photos and other apps
iCloud syncYesPrivate iCloud sync between your own devicesYesAssets and layers sync through iCloud, also with Artemis StudioNot stated
Sharing camera setupsYesKit files: opening free, making Pro; Share my framing on a show (Pro)YesShare camera and lens setups with other Artemis usersYesCamera setups shared by link or QR code (version 6.1)
Live picture to other devicesYesUp to 8 iPhones and iPads, no router or internet (Pro to send)YesPeer-to-peer to nearby Artemis users (about 30 m); Artemis TV for Apple TVNot stated
Password-protected PDFs✓YesPassword-protected, watermarked PDFs (Pro)Not statedNot stated
Push-to-talk between devices✓YesOn the monitor link, no router (Pro)Not statedNot stated

More on set

CinewrightArtemisCadrage
Slate✓YesSlate & Sync Mark; free (Big numbers and Loud clap are Pro)Not statedNot stated
Timecode sync✓YesLTC by cable, Tentacle Sync and Ambient Lockit over Bluetooth (Pro)Not statedNot stated
Camera remote control✓YesBlackmagic over Bluetooth, Z CAM and Canon over Wi-Fi (Pro)Not statedCamera Control and Action button can open the app; no camera control statedNot stated
Script supervising✓YesIn the same app; first 3 pages free, Pro or Continuity licence for allNot statedNot stated
Floor plans and lighting plots✓YesFloor plans, blocking and lighting plots (Pro)Not statedNot statedOverhead camera diagrams in the separate Cadrage Studio app
Linked to budgeting and scheduling✓YesShot lists, scouts, storyboards and set progress to Budgeting and SchedulingNot statedNot stated
Calculators✓YesTimecode, exposure, shutter, data rate and more; most freeNot statedNot stated
Sources for the other products

Artemis

Cadrage

When Artemis may suit you better

  • You need a viewfinder you can buy and use today. Cinewright is finished and launches through Kickstarter in late 2026 or early 2027; nothing is on sale yet.
  • You want companion apps on Apple Vision Pro or Apple TV, or a dedicated Mac app for planning and storyboards.
  • You feed a supported Canon, Sigma or Fujifilm camera into an iPad over USB-C with External Camera Mode.
  • You want A/B Mode to compare two camera formats with frame lines, or XR Stand-ins hidden by real objects.
  • You want Helios’ Street View, 3D buildings and Milky Way planning, or the Artemis Prime optical viewfinder, available through rental houses.
  • Your company deploys apps to many devices through MDM: Artemis offers Enterprise licences.

When Cadrage may suit you better

  • You want an established viewfinder you can buy today for $19.99 once, shared with your family.
  • You send PDF shot lists by Dropbox or email, with a map link and a location QR code on each shot.
  • You share camera setups with others by link or QR code.
  • You want three-way colour correction in the viewfinder, or photo cameras alongside cinema cameras.
  • You also want Cadrage Studio for script import, overhead diagrams and shared projects through iCloud, on iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Vision Pro.

Questions

Do I need Pro to use the viewfinder?

No. The viewfinder is free with ARRI cameras, the reference formats and three lens sets. Pro opens all 107 cameras and 220 lens sets, the image tools and capture. Cinewright for iPhone and iPad.

Is Cinewright made by or connected to Chemical Wedding or Cadrage GmbH?

No. Cinewright is independent and is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by Chemical Wedding, Cadrage GmbH or any other company named here.

When will Cinewright be available?

Cinewright is finished and launches through Kickstarter in late 2026 or early 2027; nothing is on sale yet. See the prices.

Movie Magic, Gorilla, Showbiz, StudioBinder, Celtx, Yamdu, Saturation, SetHero, ScriptE, Scripty, LockitScript, Script Evolution, ZoeLog, Scriptation, Artemis, Helios, Cadrage, PhotoPills, Sun Seeker, Sun Surveyor, Mark II Artist’s Viewfinder, Magic ViewFinder, FinderKit, Lenset, FrameUp, SetScope, Cine Meter, Koala Call Sheets, ShotLogic, Silverstack, ScriptySync, Relax Script Supervisor, Cadrage Studio and f8 Lens Toolkit are trademarks of their respective owners. Movie Magic Budgeting and Movie Magic Scheduling are products of Entertainment Partners; Gorilla is a product of Jungle Software; Showbiz Budgeting is sold by Cast & Crew LLC; StudioBinder is a product of StudioBinder Inc.; Celtx is a product of Celtx Inc.; Yamdu is a product of Seriotec GmbH; Saturation is a product of Saturation.io, Inc.; SetHero is a product of SetHero, LLC; ScriptE is a product of ScriptE Systems, LLC; Scripty is sold by EGETECH LTD; LockitScript is a product of Lockit Network GmbH; Artemis and Helios are products of Chemical Wedding LLC; Cadrage is a product of Cadrage GmbH; PhotoPills is a product of PhotoPills S.L.; Sun Seeker is sold by Ajnaware Pty Ltd; Mark II Artist’s Viewfinder is sold by DIRE Studio Kft.; Lenset is sold by Eyvin Studios AB; SetScope is sold by TRISIMIO SL; Koala Call Sheets is a product of Jungle Software; ShotLogic is sold by Cast & Crew LLC; Silverstack is a product of Pomfort GmbH; Cadrage Studio and f8 Lens Toolkit are products of Cadrage GmbH. Cinewright is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by any of these companies or developers. Comparisons are based on information published on each company’s own website and App Store listings as of 28 October 2026. Other product and company names are trademarks of their respective owners. Cinewright™ is a trademark of Damon Winters.

Other names in the feature tables, such as Final Draft, Fountain, Fade In, Highland, Avid, DaVinci Resolve, Final Cut Pro, Premiere Pro, Silverstack, Tentacle Sync, Lockit, QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite, ARRI, RED, Sony, Canon, Blackmagic and Z CAM, are trademarks of their respective owners.

Kickstarter coming late 2026 or early 2027

Hear first when it launches